Who me?

learning to see myself clearly

I think I need to take a lesson from the dogs

on February 18, 2014

wpid-20140102_124041.jpg

Confession:  I’ve been letting winter kick my butt the past couple of weeks.

It is common to battle feelings of sluggishness during the low light days of winter.  I know better than to give into the feeling.

It’s important to get out into the sunshine, especially when there is less of it.  My dogs certainly love running around in it.

It’s time for me to refocus.

Step one:  Look at what was working…

  • Yoga and meditation – I’ve missed classes because of the weather
  • Eating more fruits and vegetables
  • Going to 5 or 6 meetings a week
  • Less tv and more reading

Step two:  What was missing…

  • Real exercise – I need to get out and walk more
  • I need to reduce the bad carbs
  • Sleep schedule – I do better when I am more routine about sleep
  • I need to be more social – I need to call people just to talk, I need to make plans and get out

Step three:  Make a plan…

  • Go to Yoga classes on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.  This also fills part of the social need.  During vacation next week go to at least 2 daytime classes.
  • Meditate everyday – first thing and last thing.  Add Yin if I miss a class
  • Pack my lunch for work
  • Eat fruit and yogurt when I crave something sweet.
  • Go to bed and wake the same time everyday.
  • Meetings – Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.  Meet my sponsor on Fridays.  During vacation next week hit the first light of day on Monday and Friday and the noon meeting on Wednesday.
  • Buy snowshoes and use them.  The dogs will love it.
  • Call at least one person everyday.
  • Call my sponsor at least 4 times a week
  • Everyday – spend time journaling, reading and knitting
  • Find people who like to hike and snowshoe

Step four: Do It!

On a positive note:  I am 49 days sober.

2 responses to “I think I need to take a lesson from the dogs

  1. I always say “action kills anxiety”, which is depression’s evil twin sister. Sounds like a great plan! If you need a friend to call, you can call me if you want to. I’ve felt better this year because in Oct. I started adding a lot of vitamin D drops to my water every morning. I really think it’s helped! Jarrow makes a good lemon flavor and you can get it for $9 at whole foods or amazon. Big hugs! Get those snowshoes, this is the perfect time for it:) ~OTS

    • jill says:

      Thanks! I’ve got to try the vitamin d. Sounds like a good idea. It would be nice to talk, it’s nice to find a kindred spirit.

Leave a Reply

