Who me?

learning to see myself clearly

Feeling stuck in the mud

on January 12, 2014

Day 12 – I watched the playoff games yesterday, no alcohol, no problem.  Now, this morning, I want a drink.  I was never that much of a morning drinker even.  What the …

Isn’t it something the way our minds and bodies play with us.  The first week, I had trouble sleeping.   The last couple of nights have been better, but the cravings for sweets have gotten worse this week.  I also have been utterly incapable of doing much of anything.  Sure I have gone to work and done the basics, but other than that I have basically grown roots on the couch.  I know I need to be gentle with myself, but I also know that I will feel better if I can be productive.  What I don’t need is to feel guilty about the things I am not accomplishing.

I am distracting myself with reading, movies, and such, but yesterday I couldn’t even seem to cook a meal.  I had great intentions, but the chicken is still in the fridge.

I do have a massage scheduled this afternoon; that should help.  There’s a meeting at 6:00.  I think I need to be there.

 

7 responses to “Feeling stuck in the mud

  1. The first few weeks will zap your energy and if you do nothing else except stay sober, it doesn’t matter at all. It’s more energy consuming than you would imagine but it does pass. You will be super efficient when you are super sober!

  2. iamsobernow says:

    I’m feeling the same way – low energy, low motivation. It came out of nowhere yesterday and nothing much got done around here. Belle said, “Sobriety first. Everything else second.” It’s early days yet. Let’s give ourselves a break and a pat on the back for not drinking! Hugs!!

  3. lucy2610 says:

    Dont’ worry about the sugar cravings, that too will pass, but right now you are replacing the sugar that was in whatever was your poison with the sugar in sweets. Just go with it, grow roots, eat shit, worry about it next week not today. Staying sober is your focus for now 🙂

  4. Shawn says:

    I’ve been finding that feeling lousy never really felt so good. You’re doing a great job 🙂

Leave a Reply

