Who me?

learning to see myself clearly

Cooking to distract myself from Friday night

on January 3, 2014

Yesterday, I got to thinking about the overripe bananas sitting in the kitchen.  Looking to distract myself, I decided to search recipes.  Mind you we were snowed in, so I needed to work with what I had on hand.  Unfortunately, there seems to be a shortage of banana cookie or cake recipes that aren’t full of oatmeal, nuts or cinnamon.  All of those things were in short supply, so I did nothing.  Today I had better luck, I found a cake recipe.  It  didn’t go as planned.  A metaphor for my life.

When I went to take the first layer out of the pan, let’s just say it was soft.  Not to be undone, I put them back in the oven.   Maybe I’ll just euthanize this one (cake for dinner anyone?  it has eggs, flour and fruit)  I can pretend I only wanted a one layer cake.

No danger of this becoming a cooking blog

No danger of this becoming a cooking blog

This was aspiring to be a banana cake with white chocolate chips and  coconut butter-cream frosting.  At least it was a fabulous distraction and it did taste good.  Sometimes you just have to make the best of things, even when they don’t turn out the way you plan.  I’ll take this one with a big glass of milk.  Have a peaceful weekend.

2 responses to “Cooking to distract myself from Friday night

  1. Hi Jill,
    I think it looks nice, sounds like it’s got delicious stuff inside!
    Cooking is a great distraction as are movies.
    You are lucky to have a friend in recovery, I am sure you guys could find new stuff to do to pass the time.
    Good luck on your journey 🙂

    • jill says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. It was yummy and there were movies involved. Nothing like cosying up by the fire with a movie on a cold cold night.

Leave a Reply

